Postgraduate Diploma in Paediatric Infectious Diseases

Differences from 2018/19 to 2021/22

  • 1. The Divisional Board of Medical Sciences, jointly with the Continuing Education Board, shall elect for the supervision of the course a Standing Committee, which shall have the power to arrange lectures and other instruction.

  • 2. The course shall be taken over a period of six terms.

  • 3. Candidates may be permitted to seek an extension of time for up to three terms. 

  • 4. Every candidate shall be required to satisfy the examiners in the following:

    • (a) A written assignment consisting of a case study and literature review of no more than 4,000 words;

    • (b) A short oral presentation;

    • (c) A written assignment of no more than 4,000 words, taking the form of an in-depth review and critical analysis of a topic from the syllabus;

    • (d) A written assignment of no more than 4,000 words, taking the form of either:

      • i. An audit project written in the format of a scientific paper;

      • or

      • ii. A project report describing a small-scale research study in the field of paediatric infectious diseases undertaken by the candidate of no more than 4000 words written in the style of a scientific paper;

      • or

      • iii. An in-depth literature review and research project protocol.

    • (e) An examination consisting of multiple choice questions in paediatric infectious diseases.

  • The assignments under 4(a), 4(c) and 4(d) shall be submitted to the examiners via the University approved online submissionassessment systemplatform for consideration by such date as the examiners shall determine and of which they shall notify candidates.

  • 5. Candidates may be required to attend a viva voce examination at the end of the course of studies at the discretion of the examiners.

  • 6. The examiners may award a distinction to candidates for the Postgraduate Diploma.

  • 7. A candidate who fails to satisfy the examiners in the assessed work detailed under clause 4 above may be permitted one further attempt at an assessment or assessments only, not later than one year after the initial failure.